PFA Premier League Team of the Year: 5 Man City players in as Haaland leads

1 minute, 24 seconds Read

The annual PFA awards were announced on Tuesday, with Haaland also scooping up the PFA Player of the Year, while Arsenal star Bukayo Saka won the PFA Young Player of the Year.

The accolade is voted for by Premier League players, with the team of the year compiled of the most popular options.

Haaland was joined by four other of his title-winning team-mates, while Saka was also awarded a place as one of four Gunners after 14 goals and 11 assists in their title push that ultimately ended in heartbreak.

Meanwhile, Harry Kane was voted into the XI despite his summer move to Bayern Munich thanks to a stellar campaign where he netted 30 league goals for Tottenham – the joint-most he has scored in a single season in his career.

Kane was joined by his England team-mate Kieran Trippier, who helped guide Newcastle back into the Champions League for the first time since the 2003-04 campaign.

He lines up at right back, alongside City’s defensive pairing of John Stones and Ruben Dias, with the two title-winners contributing to the top flight’s joint-tightest defence last season.

William Saliba completed the back four, with the Frenchman’s importance to Arsenal demonstrated by their title challenge collapsing in his absence.

The Gunners picked up 66 points from the 27 league games he played in, while they accrued just 18 from 11 matches without him.

Arsenal skipper Martin Odegaard won a place in the XI after 15 goals, and he was joined by City duo Kevin De Bruyne and Rodri in midfield, with the Belgian appearing in the XI for the fifth time after supplying 18 assists.

Full XI (4-3-3): Ramsdale; Tripier, Stones, Dias, Saliba; De Bruyne, Rodri, Odegaard; Saka, Haaland, Kane

Similar Posts